Aotearoa Contemporary

  Sat 06 Jul 2024 to Sun 20 Oct 2024
Auckland Art Gallery

new creative ideas and form

Presented by Principal Partner Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei, Aotearoa Contemporary offers a platform for new art and ideas in Aotearoa New Zealand. 
Set to occur every three years at the Gallery, Aotearoa Contemporary will cultivate a new generation of artistic voices, providing a showcase for what is new and current in Aotearoa New Zealand’s diverse cultural environment with its dynamic history of contemporary art.
Featuring 27 artists and 22 new compelling projects, the exhibition includes a range of different mediums and new art practices such as painting, textiles, sculpture, ceramics, photography, and a programme of new choreographed performances.
With an emphasis on emerging and less visible practitioners, the focus is on artistic breadth and art’s role in this country in responding to and generating new creative ideas and forms. The artists featured in Aotearoa Contemporary are: Emerita Baik, Leo Baldwin-Ramult, Heidi Brickell, Pelenakeke Brown, Jack Hadley, Ruth Ige, Hannah Ireland, Xin Ji, Reece King, Qianye Lin and Qianhe Lin, Te Ara Minhinnick, Ammon Ngakuru, Amit Noy, Sung Hwan Bobby Park, Meg Porteous, Maungarongo (Ron) Te Kawa, Tyrone Te Waa, The Killing (collective), Anh Trân, Manuha‘apai Vaeatangitau, Jahra Wasasala and George Watson.

The exhibition is free entry.

Aotearoa Contemporary has been programmed alongside New Zealand’s leading contemporary arts award, the Walters Prize 2024. 

The exhibition is proudly supported by The Chartwell Trust, the Auckland Art Gallery Foundation, and a consortium of individual donors.